Extreme Warfare Revenge: WCW 1998 PART 1 – World War III

Decided to blog about a wrestling simulator that’s been around for a while called Extreme Warfare Revenge. It’s a booking simulator which lets you book matches and run companies how you see fit. If you want to give Heath Slater the WWE World Heavyweight Championship… you can! If you want to sign Freight Train to WWE and have him feud with Triple H… you can! If you want to change John Cena’s gimmick to Adult Film Star… YOU CAN!

But I decided to wind back the clock and go back to 1998. There’s mods for different times in wrestling. I mean you could go back to 1975 if you wanted to and book Verne Gagne! But I went back to 1998 due to a YouTube playthrough I saw by a couple of lads from NewLegacyInc. You can check that out below.

So I decided to use the 1998 mod and play through the game myself. Not to do like a silly little game like they did. I’m not sure I’d have Stevie Ray as my World Champion! However, I did want to do a play through. A serious play through and see how I’d book WCW if I were in charge at the time! Obviously, WCW were at war with WWF in the Monday Night Wars. So I had to pull out all the stops if I wanted to rewrite history with WCW. A few sackings here and a few hirings later including the signings of Jushin Thunder Liger, Rob Van Dam and Keji Mutoh… I was ready to take the wrestling world by storm.

And after a lot of Nitros, Thunders and Saturday Nights… I was on my first PPV World War 3. I never really went with tradition for this one. I never had a 60 man battle royal as the main event! Largely because I forgot what my first PPV was! But anyway. WCW World War III was my first PPV… allow me to show you what I booked!

worldwar3
Pre-Show – WCW Crusierweight Championship: Chavo Guerrero def. Ultimo Dragon ©, Rey Mysterio and Tajiri

There was no real feuds here but Chavo was getting over from helping Eddie Guerrero out in his feud with RVD (which I’ll mention later). So I decided to have him beat Ultimo in an elimination four way for the title to see if I can take advantage of his overness. Match got 74% overall which was good because I was expecting a much lower rating! It got 89% match quality which I was happy with. I hope this is the start of something special for these four!

Match 1 – Rob Van Dam def. Eddie Guerrero in a Hardcore Match

RVD was signed from ECW, and I decided his first feud was to be with Latino Heat! This has really been a back-and-forth feud with it paying off with this match. I got 100% match quality and a 94% overall which was the second highest off the show! Very happy… but the feud ain’t over yet. I’m planning to put Eddie over in the feud so I gave RVD the PPV victory.

Match 2 – The Giant def. Lex Luger

I had Luger turn on The Giant and join the nWo because for some reason, I was lacking in main event heels! So I did that and feuded the two. The feud’s not really done much for either of these guys yet, however we got a 80% overall! I had Giant beat Luger clean because Luger was pissing me off! Luger requested a match with The Big Bossman, which I was happy to do because I wanted to get the Bossman over. I wanted Bossman to win, but Luger insisted on it being a cheap finish for Bossman and refused to go over clean. So he got his wish… But as it turned out, Luger basically no-sold the entire match and then complained about Bossman afterwards! The prick got what deserved at World War 3 when he lost to Giant clean and Bossman ran out and attacked him afterwards!

Match 3 – The Outsiders def. The Steiners © via DQ in a WCW Tag Title match. Special Referee Ric Flair

These are our top two teams so I feuded them. The original plan for this match was for Flair to screw the Outsiders by having him do a fast count on them. However, CREATIVE CONTROL messed that plan up for me! The Outsiders wanted to win! So I decided to have Flair perform an unfair DQ on the Steiners giving the Outsiders the win. But since the titles couldn’t change hands on a DQ, the Steiners retained. So the Steiners walked out champs like I planned. However, I may have the Outsiders win the title eventually and have Scott Steiner have a singles run. 86% overall and the titles gained in image.

Match 4 – Bret Hart def. Curt Hennig

Other than this being a match I really wanted to see, I wanted Hennig to get a bit off a push. So I feuded him with Bret Hart. Problem is, Hennig and Hart are miles apart in terms of overness. Putting Hennig over would see Hart lose a lot of overness which I didn’t want to happen. That’s a problem I’ve had with another feud (get on to that in a bit). So Bret Hart won, but Hennig refused to shake his hand. 84% overall.

Match 5 – DDP and Jushin Thunder Liger def. Raven and Keiji Muto

I signed Jushin Thunder Liger to the company the first day in the game! I wanted him in this company so much! And I decided to have Raven be the one to go after the Japanese star. I believed this would be a sound feud and it has been so far. Both men have been getting super over from it and Raven’s getting us a lot of ratings. Raven is also currently the TV champion after beating Booker T. However, I decided to throw more man into the mix. When I signed Keji Mutoh, I had him attack both men and then beat DDP for the US title on Thunder! This eventually led to a brawl between all four on Saturday Night which led to this tag match. A good match grabbing an 82% overall.

Match 6 – Chris Benoit def. Chris Jericho

One of my best feuds at the moment, with everyone involved getting super-over. Jericho had been leading the feud for a while with his two cronies Edge and Christian (who were signed after WWF released them), but Benoit’s getting back into it. Having beaten Jericho clean on Thunder in a fatal four way, Benoit beat him again in a singles match after Edge messed up the running. These two got the highest overall rating of the night with a 95% RATING! So pleased with that as well as the 100% match quality as well. Two 100% match qualities in one night! I think Benoit, Jericho, RVD and Eddie are going to be pivitol to the future of WCW!

Match 7 – Hollywood Hogan def. Davey Boy Smith in a cage match

Now this feud has not gone as I had hoped. I really wanted to push Davey Boy but he’s been unable to get overness that I wanted from him and he’s hurting Hogan’s popularity big time. I therefore thought it was only fair to give Hogan the win. After all, it wasn’t like he was gonna let me put Davey Boy over anyway! Creative Control sucks! Unfortunately a 72% overall. :(

Match 8 – Sting © def. Randy Savage via DQ to retain the WCW World Title

This has gotten me good results this feud! Savage and Sting have produced the goods as Savage left the nWo and picked on a fight with Sting. He never turned face and left. He’s just working as a lone ranger with Elizabeth by his side. Sadly, it was Elizabeth that cost him this World Title match. Similar to Ziggler/Del Rio at MITB in 2013, Elizabeth interfered and attacked Sting to cause Savage to be DQ’d. Then, Goldberg ran down to the ring and took down Savage! We got a 90% overall which was great news for the main event! It’s not the feud-ending match as I wanted them to fight on Nitro for the WCW Title as well!

85% overall the PPV got! I think for my first outing, we’re off to a great start! 🙂

Coming up next… Starrcade!

4 thoughts on “Extreme Warfare Revenge: WCW 1998 PART 1 – World War III

  1. Pingback: The Armbar Express | Extreme Warfare Revenge: WCW 1998 PART 2 – Starrcade

  2. Pingback: The Armbar Express | EXTREME WARFARE REVENGE: WCW 1998 – UPDATE #1

  3. Pingback: The Armbar Express | EXTREME WARFARE REVENGE: WCW 1998 – UPDATE #2

  4. Pingback: The Armbar Express | EXTREME WARFARE REVENGE: WCW 1998 – UPDATE #3

Leave a Reply

