TNA Lockdown 2014 Review – Lockdown Provides A Lethal Dose Of All-Out Carnage!

2014 Lockdown Review. No Time For Intro! Review Now!

TNA_Lockdown_2014_Poster

TNA vs Wrestle-1

So if TNA wanted to provide an advertisement of their new partners Wrestle-1 and to showcase some of the best X-Division stars around… THEY SURE AS HELL DID! A very slick six man tag team between Wrestle-1 and TNA. The six man duo of Christopher Daniels, Kazarian and Chris Sabin just ooze chemistry between themselves. The three-man moves that were pulling out in this match were quality to see. The only complaint that I’d have is that it kinda overshadowed the Wrestle-1 guys, who TNA were supposed to showcase in this match! Speaking of Wrestle-1, I loved watching the Wrestle-1 guys. Yasu looked decent in there. Sanada looked amazing in this match. He was able to keep up with the pace of the X-Divsion stars if not surpass it, and he looks to be a great fit for the X-Division. It’s always great to see The Great Muta in action and the fans were so hyped for him. And he’s hardly lost a step. When he entered the fans just ate it up. You’ve got love this appreciation of wrestling legends like the Great Muta. What I loved at the end of the match was Sanada getting the win for hs team rather than Muta. It kinda felt that Muta was kinda putting Sanada over by having him being able to get the pin was a great way to “pass the torch” if you will and introduce Sanada to the TNA scene.

 

Sam Shaw vs Mr Anderson

A nice match to put Sam Shaw over. This guy’s got a real good thing going right now. I was half expecting a heel turn from Christy Hemme mind you to bring some kind of dignity to Christy after all the ridiculous screaming and cheer-leading she was providing. It was a slow-paced match but it was still an entertaining match. Obviously a lot of drama with Earl Hebner being knocked down and Samuel Shaw dragging Christy into the cage. Nevertheless, the right man won and I think Sam will get a lot out of this victory.

 

Bobby Lashley Returns To TNA

Ethan Carter III made his way to the ring to challenge any member of the TNA roster to a match a Lockdown since his scheduled opponent Kurt Angle was obviously out of the picture. And the man who answered the call was a real shocker… BOBBY LASHLEY! Yes, Bobby Lashley returned to TNA and basically kicked Ethan Carter’s ass. The man never took place, but it was an impressive beatdown regardless. I don’t know what TNA’s plans are with Bobby considering his MMA career, but it might be real nice to see Lashley in mainstream wrestling again. I doubt he’ll be going after the title due to his other commitments but he can provide a lot of star power for TNA that can still go in the ring – at least that’s what I’d like to believe is the case.

 

Tigre Uno vs Manik

Damn, these two put on a show. The star attraction of this match was obviously the debuting Tigre Uno, but Manik looked impressive as ever and the two were able to match each other very well with pace. Especially with the fast paced chain wrestling at the start of the match. Really well coordinated. A lot of cool moments from both athletes. Tigre Uno looked really good in this match and I just love his finisher the Sabretooth which got the win on Manik. I really hope that Tigre Uno does well in TNA because he honestly has the skills to have a fantastic career in the impact zone!

 

Gunner vs James Storm in a Steel Cage Last Man Standing Match!

I love a good old fight with a lot of intensity involved and this certainly provided that intensity. Hell it started outside the cage when Storm and Gunner came to blows during Gunner’s entrance. They did a bit of damage outside the cage including a suplex to the floor by Gunner. With a low blow and a steel cage door slam to the head, Storm takes advantage and the match begins. A lot of hard-hitting shots involved…. instead of that one bit where I think Gunner hit Storm with the side part of the steel steps and Storm sold it as if he got hit by bulldozer. I think Gunner actually did a F5 during this match. A sloppy one mind you, but I appreciate the effort. It had a bit of a lame ending with the superplex to the chairs which didn’t look that effective of a finish to me. It was Gunner that hit it and was able to beat the 10 count while Storm was down for the count… literally.

 

Madison Rayne (c) vs Gail Kim for the Knockouts Championship

Better than average women’s match is all I can about this match. It was much better than anything that WWE could deliver even on their best day these days. But of all the gimmick women’s matches TNA has done over the years, this doesn’t stack high in them matches. Other than the neckbreaker off the ropes, I don’t remember much special moments from the match. Kinda disappointed Gail didn’t pick up a win but Madison rolls on.

 

Magnus (c) vs Samoa Joe for the TNA World Championship

I’m sorry but when I was watching this match back, I had so many difficulties watching it. I could barely watch it in sync that much and it was proper annoying sitting through it. Regardless, it was an OK match which the fans ate up. A lot of brutality from both men but a lame ass ending with Abyss getting involved and helping Magnus. I would have liked it if Magnus got a clean victory once in a while. I mean for Abyss to come and bail Magnus out was so annoying to me because it happens over and over again. Abyss being the corporate tool – like I haven’t seen that a dozen times already in TNA.

 

Lethal Lockdown: Team MVP vs Team Dixie for Control of TNA Operations

I’m not going to lie… does NOT stack up to previous Lethal Lockdowns at all. I mean the Wolves, Aries and MVP did their best but there wasn’t much exciting points to the match. And the Bully Ray twist as the special referee and the double cross was not exactly surprising once we saw him come out. I prefer Bully Ray as a heel to be honest. It’ll be interesting to see Bully go up against Dixie, but after that I don’t know how affective he’ll be as a face.

 

Not a lot of words from me, but it was a decent Lockdown event. Definitely a watch. I’m sorry I didn’t go into much depth with this. As of publishing date, I’ve haven’t had any sleep at all (And trust me. That’s NOT an exaggeration)! Also Uni work has proper limited my work rate for wrestling stuff. I haven’t been able to do columns for NoDQ.com as frequently as I hoped and I do apologize to any readers of the Robinson Rumble. I don’t think I’ll be able to do much more any time soon. Fortunately I’m off in April, so expect a lot of content during that month. 🙂

One thought on “TNA Lockdown 2014 Review – Lockdown Provides A Lethal Dose Of All-Out Carnage!

  1. Pingback: The Armbar Express | 13/3/14 TNA Impact Wrestling Review – It Pays To Be A Bully

Leave a Reply

